Home

wasteland

How I learned to stop worrying and love the bomb.

Fallout 3 is a lot like the real world but with more Super mutants; you can do pretty much anything, it has a morality system and outside is a scary place to go. More people are trying to kill me in Bethesda’s masterpiece though, just.

Also it it has Deathclaws. Horrible, horrible Deathclaws.

death claw

Let me tell me you about my very first encounter with one of these vile beasties.

It had started off as an excellent day, I had escaped the underground coffin that had been my home for many a year and experienced true freedom for the first time in my life. The sun was beating comfortingly upon my shoulders, everything was new and exciting. The whole of the wasteland panned out in front of my eyes, I could go anywhere, be anyone.

Should probably find my dad first, he is Liam Neeson after all.

Meandering my way down the desolate road I eventually stumble upon Megaton. Here I get to push over a Brahmin, rob an Irishman and meet the most cheerful woman ever. Things are getting better and better!

mb

After a few nonchalant burglaries and a couple of errands for Mrs. Jolly it’s time to stock up on RadAway and be on my merry way. This wasteland isn’t going to explore itself.

Across the river and to the north east looks like a good a bet as any.

Still everything was coming up Douglas. I made a new friend called Dogmeat and helped thwart the vile AntAgonizer and her evil machinations.

It was not all sunshine and rainbows though; I stumbled across a diner where I nearly became the main course and discovered Old Olney.

20131229222922!Old_Olney

Old Olney: final resting place of many a poor soul and home to the foul Deathclaws.

My excitement of Ooo a new creature was instantly replaced with how do I kill it?

I’m not an idiot, this new enemy had a fearsome name and a figure to match. Best play it safe. A few hits from my sniper rifle should do the trick and if it survives that, just whip out my Minigun and finish off the fool.

Gauss_rifle_Guide

Hmm that first shot seems to have been rather less effective than I originally hoped for, never mind he is still quite some distance away and…

OH GOD LOOK AT HIM MOVE

*switches to Mingun*

Hurry up and start firing you piece of shi..

Deathclaw Hug

OH GOD HE IS RIGHT IN MY FACE, LOOK AT THE SIZE OF THOSE CLAWS

*DEAD*

Last save two hours ago.

Fallout 3 is a lot like the real world but with more Super mutants AND Deathclaws.

South west it is.

Only one possible song I can play after that:

5 thoughts on “Adventures in the The Capital Wasteland or:

      • rofl. Yeah. I spent a week, one day, stuck in Old Olney. I ran. I crept. I tried diversions. I tried bribery. They wouldn’t let me leave. Pretty sure that character is still there. Waiting for me to try again. Poor dumb bastard.

  1. I swore never to return to that place; so many memories, too much heartache. The lure of Nuka-Cola drew me back.

    *shakes head*

    That Sierra Petrovita will be the death of me…

I value your thoughts and opinions, honest.

